Idaho Geospatial Council – Executive Committee

Subcommittee of the Idaho Technology Authority (ITA) Draft Meeting Minutes: November 13, 2019

(To be approved)

The November 13, 2019 meeting of the Idaho Geospatial Council–Executive Committee (IGC-EC) was held at 2:00 pm (Pacific)/3:00 pm (Mountain) in the Cataldo Room, Bruce R. Pitman Center, University of Idaho, Moscow, ID.

ATTENDANCE

Members/Alternate(s) Present:

Wilma Robertson, Dept. of Water Resources (CHAIR) Bruce Godfrey, U of I Betty Conces, Kootenai County Sydney Lewis, Transportation Department Pam Bond, City of Boise (phone) Craig Campbell, Digline, Inc. (phone) Cyndi Andersen, Bannock County (phone) Jerry Korol, NRCS (phone) Robert Smith, Governor's Office of IT Services (phone) Kelly Green, Blaine County (phone) John Koudelka, INL representative (phone)

Members Absent:

Shane Lim, Suez Water Keith Weber, ISU GIS Center Laurie Ames, Nez Perce Tribe Tom Carlson, USGS Stewart Ward, Dioptra Geomatics

Others Present:

Erin Seaman, Governor's Office of IT Services (phone) Tony Harbison, Kootenai County Assessor Joe Pounder, Kootenai County Assessor Rich McReynolds, City of Moscow Allen Cousins, Avista Silas Whitley, Dept. of Lands Ann Ulliman, Facilities U of I Kathleen Fulmer, EWO/self Weston Geddis, Coeur d'Alene Tribe Bev Rice, Geology Natalie McDonald, Coeur d'Alene Tribe Brenna Garro, U of I Student Zoie Anderson, U of I Student Luke Sherman, U of I NKN Dina Willis, U of I Library Jennifer Hinds, U of I NKN Sam Jenkins, WSU

Meg Sisk, USFS Dan Cronin, U of I Kelly Brody, U of I Student Mackenzie Lawrence, U of I Extension Bishnu Pandey, U of I Student Colette DiPhelps, U of I Extension Cody Hodgson, U of I Student Christie Hubbard, U of I Craig Woodcott, U of I Dalyn McCanley, U of I Will Stimpson, U of I Gina Price, Kootenai County / URISA Sam Martin, Nez Perce-Clearwater NF Kayla Martin, Dept. of Lands Sabine Knier, Coeur d'Alene Tribe Lisa Jones, U of I Heidi McRoberts, USFS Evan Williamson, U of I Library Xiang Que, U of I Computer Science Rongbin Tang, U of I Computer Science Erhun Aydin, Esri Canserina Kurnta, Esri **Russell Beck, Sentry Dynamics** Travis Seaborn, U of I Fish & Wildlife Svs. Will Thoman, Transportation Department Ron McGraw, Moscow Resident Amy Thompson, USFS Robert Grow, USFS Chao Ma, U of I Computer Science Bin Liang, U of I FCS Department Codi Martin, RimRock Consulting Dawn Beach, U of I Library Xiaogang Ma, U of I Computer Science Jacob Wells, USFS

WELCOME

Chair Robertson welcomed everyone and called the meeting to order at 2:01 pm (Pacific) / 3:01 pm (Mountain).

MINUTES

MOTION: Ms. Andersen moved and Mr. Godfrey seconded a motion to approve the minutes of the September 19, 2019 Meeting, as presented; the motion passed unanimously.

ITA POLICY P5030 (FRAMEWORK STANDARDS DEVELOPMENT)

Ms. Andersen gave an overview of the proposed revisions to ITA Policy P5030.

MOTION: Ms. Andersen moved and Mr. Korol seconded a motion to recommend approval of the revisions to ITA Policy P5030 to the ITA, as presented; the motion passed unanimously.

ITA GUIDELINE G360 (STATEWIDE GEOSPATIAL CLEARINGHOUSE (INSIDE IDAHO) PUBLISHER GUIDELINES)

Mr. Godfrey gave an overview of the draft proposed guidance and supplement for publishing to the Statewide Geospatial Clearinghouse (INSIDE Idaho). In addition to Ms. Bond, the working group also included Mr. Godfrey, and Ms. Green. Mr. Godfrey also discussed several additional changes made based on feedback received during the comments period.

Ms. Bond noted that a link to the best practices supplement will be added to the guideline once the supplement has been posted on INSIDE Idaho.

MOTION: Mr. Campbell moved and Ms. Lewis seconded a motion to approve ITA Guideline G360, as presented; the motion passed unanimously.

FORMATION OF TRANSPORTATION TWG

Ms. Lewis discussed the rationale behind reconstituting the Transportation TWG, including the collaborative benefits of working with E911 and others. Ms. Lewis agreed to chair the TWG, and meetings will be noticed on the Geotech and IGC listservs.

MOTION: Mr. Godfrey moved and Ms. Green seconded a motion to reconstitute the Transportation TWG; the motion passed unanimously.

OTHER BUSINESS

Ms. Andersen stated that the East Idaho Geospatial (EIG) Group met that morning and the group is thinking about organizing an event with STEM at ISU next year. They want to ensure that it won't interfere with the fall 2020 IGC meeting, if that is also to be held in eastern Idaho in 2020.

Chair Robertson responded that the Fall 2020 IGC meeting will probably be held in eastern Idaho, and it would be great to coordinate it alongside other GIS-related events.

Ms. Andersen agreed to discuss ideas with the EIG.

ADJOURNMENT AND NEXT MEETING

The meeting adjourned at 3:16 pm. The next meeting was scheduled for January 16, 2020.

in Seaman

Erin Seaman, Governor's Office of IT Services (ITS)